6.3 Earthquake West of Alaska Shakes Russian Cruise Port City

6.3 Earthquake West of Alaska 183km ESE of Nikolskoye Russia
6.3 Earthquake West of Alaska 183km ESE of Nikolskoye Russia
17 Most Powerful Earthquakes in Russia
17 Most Powerful Earthquakes in Russia

An earthquake measured at  6.3 on the Richter Scale, was felt in Alaska and numerous cities in Russia today. (See video below)

Nearby Places:  Attu, Alaska 353.6 km (219.7 mi) WNW – Population: 0, Klyuchi, Russia 529.9 km (329.3 mi) ESE – Population: 10,000, Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Russia 679.7 km (422.3 mi) E – Population: 187,282, Yelizovo, Russia 691.9 km (429.9 mi) E – Population: 40,692, Vilyuchinsk, Russia 699.4 km (434.6 mi) E – Population: 25,204.

Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Russia is a Bering Sea cruise port city. Silversea Cruises has cruise itineraries to Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Russia. Itineraries include 14 to 18 day cruises, embarking from Seward, Alaska; Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Russia; Toyko, Japan or Otaru Japan.

This earthquake became tied for the 16th most powerful earthquake in this recorded history of Russia in the top 17 earthquakes to strike Russia. The most powerful earthquake recorded in Russia was centered on Sakhalin, Russia. Sakhalin island is in the Pacific Ocean, north of Japan. The November 5, 1952 earthquake which measured 9.0, was reported to have resulted in  2,336 deaths.

The Sakhalin, Russia earthquake was the second most deadly earthquake in Russian reported history. The most deadly earthquake was on October 21, 1907, when a 7.4 earthquakes struck Uzbekistan and Tajikistan. The earthquake was reportedly responsible for 12,000 to 15,000 deaths.

Why Are Uzbekistan and Tajikistan Included in Russia Earthquakes?

There were 210,306 Russians living in Uzbekistan in 1912 during the Great Game. The “Great Game” period is generally regarded as running from approximately 1813 to the Anglo-Russian Convention of 1907. Uzbekistan was later a Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) republic from 1924 until 1990.   On June 20,  1990, Uzbekistan declared its state sovereignty. On 31 August 1991, Uzbekistan declared independence after the failed coup attempt in Moscow.

As well, Tajikistan  came under Russian rule in the 1860s.  In 1924 Tajikistan became an Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republics of the Soviet Union, (Tajik ASSR) within Uzbekistan. In 1929 Tajikistan was made one of the component republics of the Soviet Union. Tajikistan Soviet Socialist Republic (SSR) was among the last republics of the Soviet Union to declare its independence. On September 9, 1991, following the collapse of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR), Tajikistan declared its independence.

Seven Russia Related Articles

Video: 6.3 Earthquake Nikolskoye, Russia